Why I have purchased a Simba Mattress

The last couple of months both myself and my husband have been complaining of back ache and hip problems, now we are both overweight and getting older (I am 40 at the end of the year and hubby will be 50 9 days before me), but for us both to be getting pains at the same time, we have put it down to our mattress (of course nothing to do with our weight problems, it just can’t be!!).

We worked it out that our current mattress was 8 years old and to be honest we probably only moved it around a handful of times. I know you should move your mattress around but ours is a super king and it is so bloody heavy it is definitely a 2 man job and as hubby works away a lot it just wasn’t practical.

OK so we have had our mattress for 8 years, and we are getting back pains, time to find a new mattress. We did a lot of research into this as it is a lot of money and we don’t want to get it wrong. We came across this article in the Independent I instantly liked the fact that is was a UK company as its always nice to support local companies, and what really caught my eye was it had a 100 day sleep trial. Our current mattress is a more traditional pocket sprung mattress and the fact that we could try before we buy was very appealing.

We shop a lot in John Lewis (mainly as their products normally come with a longer guarantee than elsewhere and we have a John Lewis credit card so we get more points when we buy from them!) so we searched for super king mattresses and had a look what came up. There were a lot of mattress toppers and enhancers we ignored and the prices varied from £450 to £18,000 (now this was a cashmere pocket sprung mattress, however at that price I would like it to be made of gold with diamonds encrusted in the buttons!)

Instantly the Simba mattress caught our eye as it had 146 reviews (far more than any other mattress) and had a 4.6 out of 5 star rating. So we headed to the reviews first, the first one that caught my eye was:

This mattress is incredible. It arrived in a smallish (given it was superking size) packet that was delivered directly to the bedroom. Upon opening it ‘pings’ to size. We thought we might have to wait until the next day for it to be fully open/inflated but it was ready that night within a couple of hours. Traditionally my husband and I have always favoured different mattress firmness but this one suits us both perfectly. It has really helped my bad back and neck. It also helps us both sleep better as there is no movement when the other person rolls over. Yes, it is pricey but it is worth every penny and I would not hesitate to recommend the mattress and the service from John Lewis

There were loads of similar reviews and with a rating of 4.6 most other people agreed. Of course I would have been naive to not look at the negative reviews and came across this one:

I bought this mattress after reading all the positive reviews.
The purchase and delivery were what you would expect from John Lewis – faultless.
However I really regret buying the product.
The mattress is very soft and not at all supportive – I do not feel like I’ve had a good night’s sleep.
The mattress also smells and even with a mattress protector there is a smell although this is reducing.
I definitely would not recommend this product.

simba

Hmm so what should we do?? I headed over to the Simba website directly to see if they could convince me further. The first thing I see is Gareth Bale laying down on one of their mattresses, unfortunately he doesn’t come with the mattress though. The second thing I see is that they claim this to be “the most advanced mattress in the world”. Their website was really awesome and they had recommendations from the likes of Vogue, Good Housekeeping The Telegraph, plus many many more.

I noticed they were online so I asked them a few questions, such as do they collect my old mattress, which they do. They answered within seconds which was really great and they were really helpful and friendly which makes such a difference.

With the 100 day sleep trial and their professional look I purchased directly from them. I can’t tell you how excited we are to get our new mattress which will be with us tomorrow. I will update this blog over the next 100 days to let you know what our thoughts are.

If you would like to order yours though follow this link and you will get £50 off your order Order yours now

The day has finally arrived for the delivery of our mattress! I have to say when the 2 delivery men took the mattress out of their van I was most concerned.. They assured me it was a super king so I stopped panicking for a minute. They took it up to the bedroom and then worried me further by asking if my bed was bigger than a super king as it looked huge. Oh God have I got it wrong, is mine a bigger mattress? They took the old mattress (they were very polite and helpful men by the way) and left me to open my new mattress!

 

I got the scissors and opened the box, now I really was worried, the mattress was only about 10cm deep and it looked tiny. I put it on the bed and that’s it I had got it wrong. It didn’t fit the bed.

 

Now I am known to be impatient and within about a minute the mattress had grown! It was as deep as the old mattress and actually fit the bed. What a relief!

IMG_20170706_163220_703-min

I had read a few reviews about the smell of the mattress, and as I have ordered a vacuum packed mattress before for my son so I was fully expecting it. Yesterday was the hottest day of the year so far so all the windows in the room were already opened, but I didn’t think the smell was that bad. I still left it for about 7 hours before making the bed and going to sleep and although there was a slight smell last night (only if I smelt the mattress) it certainly wasn’t a strong smell.

The last couple of months both myself and my husband had been waking up with aches and pains and it could be the placebo affect of course as it was only one night, but I definitely felt better this morning. It was certainly very comfortable, I prefer a hard mattress and hubby prefers a softer feel but this was perfect for both of us.

Would I recommend buying a Simba Mattress?

Absolutely, I think, although expensive it was well worth it. I love the fact you can return it after 100 days, I love the fact the delivery drivers were polite (I get so many who aren’t), I love the customer service, and more importantly I loved going to bed last night. A very happy customer.

Remember if you would like to order one, follow this link for £50 off!!

Order yours now

 

Have you already got a Simba mattress? I would love to hear your thoughts on it in the comments below.

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

